The Royal Netherlands Marechaussee has 21 brigades. These brigades perform security and military police tasks in their respective regions. For the performance of military police tasks, a number of brigades are based at barracks, air bases and seaports.

21 brigades are based in 8 provinces of the Netherlands. 1 brigade is permanently stationed on Curaçao in the Caribbean, with a base on the island of Aruba. Royal Netherlands Marechaussee detachments are also part of international police units deployed by NATO.